Skip to content

Chelsea New Zealand’s Hottest Home Baker – Season 3, Episode 4

May 17, 2012

Yikes! What an episode… SO MANY DISASTERS tonight.

Quote of the night (yelled from couch) goes to ME. And to be honest I didn’t really say anything… it was just the sound I made when Alice dropped her cheesecake at the last minute. Oh man, there would have been tears if it was me.

The quick challenge tonight was interesting – is candy making baking? Does NZ’s hottest home baker need to be able to make Hokey Pokey? I think not BUT then again I make a brownie topped with Hokey Pokey so maybe maybe baby!

Fudge & Coconut Ice always seem like such easy things to make – I open up my edmonds cookbook and each time I seem to forget that I am terrible at it and valiantly try again. The ONLY time I’ve ever managed to make fudge was when I got a candy thermometer. Finally the guessing was taken away and no more bench tops covered in tiny puddles of “is it at soft ball stage yet” fudge crusting up all over the place. I know many people manage without a thermometer but I’m challenged :0(

Like the butter I left on the preheating oven (and then it dribbled all through the elements…) I softened towards Dean tonight. I’m hoping it wasn’t scripted or staged – he said really nice things to Mel. I wouldn’t have had the balls to get back in that kitchen with only 15 minutes!

I was sad to see Mel go tonight, but given her being saved from it last week and her fails tonight it seemed right. In response to the few tweeters and facebookians saying that Emily should have gone home because she had a 15 minute lesson and still failed – I disagree with you! I don’t think that a 15 min chat with a professional is going to fix what was essentially a time management fail. Despite it being undercooked and collapsing they still loved her idea and her flavours.

Much love to Mel and her Cheesecake Monsters 🙂

Mr OH THOSE EYES had a great night, happy to see him win an episode. He wins quote of the night with his “don’t show my crack on TV” line for sure. The judges quip about engineers having foundations cracks got a giggle too.

A few questions for those of you in viewer land:

1) Was that an induction cooker on Ben’s bench at one point? Or just a portable element?

2) Is that actually the Chelsea Sugar factory that they show shots of? The huge orange building?

and finally:

3) What would YOU add to fudge to prove your innovation? I was gutted there was no Peanut Butter & Bacon fudge…. (goes to google to see if that is already a thing..)

Until next week!

xxBakermelz

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 17, 2012 9:39 pm

    1) No, I believe that was actually just a set of common kitchen scales.

    2) Yes it is.

    3) Maple pecan and chocolate cherry!

  2. ??? permalink
    May 17, 2012 9:41 pm

    1) No, I believe that it was just a common set of scales!

    2) Yes it is.

    3) Maple Pecan and Chocolate Cherry

    • May 17, 2012 10:06 pm

      Hahahaha nice one Ben! How will you make it without all the extra cherry juice this time Mr eyes?

  3. May 17, 2012 10:10 pm

    1) No idea
    2) Yes, it’s the Chelsea building and I think it’s technically pink.
    3) Hmm. Can’t think of any suggestions myself at the moment but I’ll put my hand up to be a taste tester. 😉

    I would have instantly been a goner in this episode. I don’t like cheesecake and have never baked one so wouldn’t have a clue what to look for, let alone what a ‘good’ cheesecake should taste like. While Alice usually seems pretty strong, I think Esme is going to be the one to watch and I like Hayley’s randomness.

    • May 18, 2012 10:17 am

      I wonder if you can tour the sugar factory..

      I personally think Esme will take this one! but I wonder if I am biased as she is a fellow kiwi cakes forum member…

  4. May 17, 2012 10:16 pm

    This was a really disappointing episode for me. Looking at the recipe and guidance they were given it’s no wonder so many people had trouble.

    http://www.tv3.co.nz/Julia-Crownshaws-Cheesecake/tabid/986/articleID/77345/Default.aspx

    For what was described at one point as a New York style baked cheesecake there was way too much sour cream (like any is more than you want) and half the number of eggs it takes.

    The ‘no cracks’ and ‘no browning’ phobia was another flaw. You will have a little of both unless you like runny cheesecake.

    Then they were told to use what sounds like a very deep baine marie so the things would never cook even if they had a correct recipe.

    All made for a lot of sad results and people thinking they’d done badly when they’d just gotten really bad advice. I felt horrible for them and annoyed at Julia.

    Though, yeah a few people did add more liquid than you want but a proper recipe would have been more accomodating there.

    I guess I should say, my recipe is: 1kg cream cheese, 6 eggs, 1.5C sugar, and whatever flavourings. Method is pretty much same as Julia’s but normally a separate pan of water in the oven or a non-absurd baine marie level. Not really my recipe, it’s from a place I used to work.

    • May 18, 2012 10:16 am

      I have to agree with you! I don’t think that recipe is fairly achievable for a HOME BAKER in TWO HOURS. Masterchef you might expect more as they are aiming for professional standards – and are actually given decent equipement to work with!

      Thanks for sharing your recipe – you sound like you know a thing or 3 about cheesecakes!

  5. Cupcakebaby permalink
    May 17, 2012 10:53 pm

    Yes, they are scales – i was on episode one as one of the original 20! Dean CAN be friendly/nice (he came out to talk to us before we started filming) – but i do still think he has an over-inflated ego, and not the most open minded person from what i’ve seen.. seems to be basically his way or the highway.

    • May 18, 2012 10:12 am

      THanks re: scales – for a second there I was thinking maybe Hamish dried out his sugar syrup becuase it was an induction cooker or similar. I’ve never seen those Breville scales beofre – cool! So exciting that you were in the the top 20! congrats! How did you find it? You are a braver baker than I. And I’m still on the fence about Dean! Sometimes I wonder if professional should be judging a ‘home baking’ contest? People will eat many a failed dessert if it is home baked! :O)

  6. Becks permalink
    May 31, 2012 5:08 pm

    Oh what would I add to fugde – both same product “Fresh as ” freeze dried fruit powder
    a) choccy fudge – would add raspberry powder
    b) vanilla fudge – would add passionfruit

    most of the powders would work with anything & not alter consistancey

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

