Skip to content

New Zealand’s Hottest Home Baker – Season 3, Episode 1

April 26, 2012

YAY! YAY! YAY!

NZHHB IS BACK! it makes me want to:

You can read all about the finalists here or catch up on the episode if you missed it here!

Tonight’s episode saw twenty chosen hopefuls battle it out for a spot in the top 8. Those on the couch with me tonight commented on the increase in males this season and with regards to one in particular… I should just get it out there now that I must have said “OH THOSE EYES” about 100 times – dreamy eyes. Right?

Ok, I’ll stop being a gushy 12 year old. On to my thoughts!

There was a lot more diversity this year and my impression was that it was on average a younger crowd too. Great to see the Vegans and Gluten free eaters being represented and even though she didn’t get through – Bex I would love your gluten free brownie recipe. Gluten free can be SO hard to get right.

I noticed there were a few of the top 20 that we didn’t get introduced to at all! That must be a bit of a downer for them but I can imagine it is not easy to cut several hours of footage down to just the best bits.

I think the contestants that got us talking the most (apart from MR EYES) were the twins – Jazmine & Morgan. How kiwi were they! Entertainment value for sure. Loved that they were on the show.

I really felt for Rose. I would have given up for sure but she just persevered. Absolutely the right choice to edit her presentation down to just one slice. Some times the messes are still delish.

Great to have Dean back again. He seems to be the right mix of fun and professional. There was a moment I thought he was being a bit smarmy though?

We Googled Julia during an ad break as her company only rang a faint bell… and then I realised I had used her Bottled Chocolate Ganache before. Amazing stuff. You can check out her company here.

I’ll miss Jade Lipton though as she gave a great working with fondant tutorial last year and I was hoping to see more of her work.

Quick mention about Colin here, not much of him in this episode but love your work! I can’t actually picture anyone else hosting this show now. I think they should make him BAKE!

I was stoked to see them in what appeared to be an a training school or cooking institute. We commented on how plain the walls were and wondered if they would improve the set as the season went on and then we saw the preview for next week! Looks like they are back in the same warehouse set up as last year. Time will tell.

Quote of the night goes to Dean “I’ve had better” OUCH!

Quote from my couch goes to “Is that what vegan poo’s look like?” – all in good spirit of course…

The AMAZEBALLS award definitely goes to Esme for that flawless cake. Understated beauty!

Really looking forward to next weeks episode, as an early pic we’ve pegged Esme & Hamish as front runners but it really might be too soon to tell.

What did you think of the episode tonight? Would you have crumbled under the pressure? Do you blind bake your pastry? What would you have made?

Let me know! I’m off to figure out if I can make a Cherry Ripe Cake!

(P.S Don’t forget to go support the show on facebook)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 10:32 pm

    Loved it!! First time I’ve watched seeing as I’ve been living overseas – that cake that Esme made – wow! And totally get Mr Blue-Eyes *swoon*.

    And if you make a Cherry Ripe cake I will be so impressed! 😉

    • April 27, 2012 3:56 pm

      Keep an eye on my blog! I’ve just bought all the ingredients! YUM

  2. Cisco permalink
    April 26, 2012 10:39 pm

    Wow, great blog!

    PS. I think you may have meant Alice, not Rose? Going to be a cracker series this year, and from the shorts it looks like there might be some fireworks next week!

    • April 27, 2012 3:46 pm

      Oh noes! Was it Alice or Raose that made the cherry ripe cake? Better go check my facts! 🙂

      • Cisco permalink
        April 28, 2012 10:09 am

        It was Alice’s cake 🙂

  3. April 27, 2012 1:29 pm

    I thought it was a little bit lame – it seemed more like a popularity contest than a baking one. Not much imagination going on with the cakes or cupcakes ( I like the ginger ones the best tho’ ) If it were me I would have made Lemon lamingtons with creme fraiche & lemon curd ! Will be watching to see if it gets a bit more diplomatic . Think hey should have introduced all the bakers as well .

    • April 27, 2012 3:46 pm

      What made you think it was a popularity contest? beign the first episode surely all they have to go off are peoples baking? Did someone get through you didn’t think should have?

      Those lamingtoms sounds amazing! and definately more fitting as a ‘wow factor & ‘innovative’ recipe then some things on last night.

  4. April 27, 2012 2:12 pm

    Hey! I think the show has my brownie recipe, the tricky thing was the oven. In my home oven it takes 24mins, in that oven it took over an hour, the oven just wasn’t hot. They are lovely brownies usually 🙂

    • April 27, 2012 3:44 pm

      Thank bex, I’ll look out for it. I’m suprised that got you all using gas ovens? I know that it can be hard to not be in your own kitchen!

      • April 27, 2012 7:10 pm

        We were in a culinary school so they all use gas. Was very stressful!
        I was on the workbench with Esme, she is so gifted with her cakes.

  5. Lauren permalink
    April 27, 2012 6:01 pm

    I want to make that Cherry Ripe cake- my husband would be in heaven! I was seriously tempted to audition this year but being pregnant and having lots of fainting episodes doesn’t lend itself well to hot kitchens and high pressure situations, so I really hope there is another season. I was impressed wth the amount of Canterbury people this year!

  6. May 1, 2012 6:07 pm

    Oh yay! Someone trying my cake! It’s really rather straight forward just cook it low and slow and you’ll get the nice dense fudgy type of cake rather than the light, fluffy kind. Oh, an avoid hot kitchens! Your ganache will melt! Good luck and let me know how it goes on my facebook page http://www.facebook.com/AliceForNZHottestHomeBaker or my blog aliceinbakingland.com
    Cheers! Alice

    • May 3, 2012 9:33 pm

      Alice! Your cake is currently wrapped and frozen! i ran out of time to decorate and take decent photos – hoping to get it out over the weekend. So stoked with the few crumbs I tasted though 🙂 Should be a goodie!

  7. cecilie rose permalink
    May 8, 2012 11:28 am

    Well done Alice I am definately going to watch you bake on Thursday… your Mum told me about the programme lots of good wishes and lve to you cecilie rose

Trackbacks

  1. Hottest Home Baker, ep 2: Cupcakes, Cock-ups and Comeuppances | Alice in Bakingland

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

