Skip to content

Christmas Meringues

December 19, 2011

Ok, so in an attempt to redeem myself after the ‘swirl cookie fail’,

I attempted another festive swirly recipe – with much more success!

‘Christmas Meringues’

3 eggs

175g castor sugar

1 teaspoon cornflour

1 teaspoon white wine vinegar

Few drops vanilla essence

(In my hunt over the years for meringue and Pavlova recipes that KICK ASS, I’ve come across many many variations. Some without cornflour, some with. Some without vinegar, some with. Some with egg powder, some with cream of tartar, some with lemon juice… this recipe works for me! But I know that there are very many many ways to make great meringues.)

Pre heat your oven toΒ 130ΒΊC

Prepare a piping bag with a coupler and nozzle.

Whisk egg whites using an electric mixer on a low-speed and as they begin to froth increase the speed, eventually hitting maximum. Your eggs whites will get thicker and thicker, and creamy looking. Keep on Whisking until they form ‘stiff peaks’. To help you tell if its ready, you can scoop some up with a spoon, hold it upside down and see if the mixture stays put.

When you’ve got stiff peaks, add the sugar a little bit at a time, and whisk until it returns to stiff peaks.

Fold in cornflour, vinegar and vanilla essence.

Take a paintbrush and paint lines of red gel food colouring down the insides of your piping bag. Two lines were enough, but I applied several layers of food colouring.

Fill piping bag with meringue mixture and pipe in large swirls on your baking paper lined tray.

(Meringues are notorious for sticking to ANYTHING, so I sprayed my baking paper with SPRINK for that extra help!)

Cook your meringues at 130ΒΊC for an hour to an hour and a half. Cooking time will vary. Depending on the size of your meringues and the size of your bags nozzle – keep a close eye on them after the first hour.

You’ll want to cook them until the meringue is firm and crisp on the outside.

I like em a little chewy on the inside! And, a few were sacrificed during cooking to check on the chew.

Once cool serve with fresh fruit and cream! Or…

Stick them together with melted chocolate and crushed candy canes for something extra special.

I spied this idea on http://www.pinterest.com – HAVE YOU BEEN THERE? You should. It is stealing hours and hours and hours of my life. HOURS.

Merry Christmas!

Love to all!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 19, 2011 9:08 pm

    Pure GENIUS! What a magical little xmas treat πŸ˜€

  2. mitch the muncher permalink
    December 19, 2011 9:54 pm

    I was lucky enough to try this little treaty and it was delicious!! (from someone who isn’t even overly keen on the crunchy, chewy beggers!) Looked great too you could even use them as elves hats on an edible xmas display!!…..Hint hint…… πŸ˜‰

    • December 19, 2011 11:12 pm

      An edible xmas display! oh dear lord.. maybe next year πŸ˜‰

  3. Anonymous permalink
    December 20, 2011 8:00 pm

    Ohhhhhh going have to try this thanks

  4. January 18, 2012 2:23 pm

    I wish I came across these BEFORE Christmas! They look soooo good. πŸ™‚

  5. December 20, 2012 8:06 pm

    Hi! I’ve spent the afternoon trying to find a suitable plate for my 8yo daughter to take to an Xmas party tomorrow. These look perfect! I was nervous to make them (never made meringue before), but the process was painless and they’re cooking in the oven right now. I had to make mine pink as I didn’t have gel colouring, but the girls will love them I’m sure! Thanks so much for the recipe! x

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

