Skip to content

in-between-y christmas

December 7, 2011

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

My sister face-booked (is that a word now?) about putting up her Christmas tree, photos of work Christmas party’s are being uploaded and the girls one pod over from me at work are singing as I type this.

Christmas has changed a lot over the last few years, dare I say it “it’s not as much fun as it once was”.

I’m in the in-between-y stage of being old enough to get a bit Grinchy about how it’s not all magical now I’m all grown up… but not quite old enough to have started my own family and traditions.

This year we will have one gorgeous 6 month old and one pregnant sister in law at Christmas. Which I’m soooo excited about!!!!! No pressure future nephews and nieces BUT I expect having kids around will bring back some of the magic!

I look forward to hyping up my little nieces and nephews with goodies and really loud obnoxious presents that their parents will kill me for buying.

I can’t be the only one who is caught out this year right? SOMEONE out there agree with me?

Christmas is more fun a) as a kid or b) in the presence of kids.

RIGHT?

So, this weekend I tried making some Christmas goodies to get me in the festive spirit and feeling a little less Grinchy…

But two of my projects failed. And becuase I started this blog with the full intention of blogging the failures… I’ll share them with you. After all “practice bakes perfect”.

So, fail number one: Pimped out Strawberries.

I had a grand plan to TRIPLE dip strawberries. In christmas colours. That would have been pretty! And delicious. However, when you dip something in white, then green, then red. you actually get Italian flag inspired strawberries.

Next time round I’ll just dip them in green. Also, colouring white chocolate properly is something I still can’t quite get right. I don’t think using inferior white chocolate is helping. It’s all funny looking. And not the deep greens and reds I was after.

It is worth noting that while it didn’t come off LOOKING like I wanted. It tasted great! Who doesn’t love a strawberry dipped in chocolate? (heathens!)

And fail number two: Pinwheel Christmas Cookies

I wanted to make cookies that looked like these, or these or these.

And although I studiously followed the recipe and instructions you can find here: http://ashlemieux.blogspot.com/2011/11/handmade-holidaycookie-pinwheels.html

I had cookie fail.

I got so frustrated at my tearing, crumbling cookie dough that I just ended up mashing the dough together however I felt.

Which made me feel a little better. So did eating most of them.

This experience did remind me of a picture a good friend of mine LOVES:

(from: http://craftfail.com/2011/08/cookie-monster-cupcake-fail/)

So here is my version, just for her.

Remember team: PRACTICE bakes perfect. So I’ll let you know if I ever get them right.

Here is a sneak peek at my next blog, a Christmas recipe that is easy and looks stunning! and was full of WIN, not FAIL.

What recipes have you managed to mess up recently?

xxx BakerMelz

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 8:30 pm

    Thought u might appreciate these cooking diasters …. let’s face it … we’ve all been there:)) https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.239239096110000.65488.224081064292470&type=1

    • December 7, 2011 8:35 pm

      OMG, love it! What I love the most is that she doesn’t EVER seem to give up!

  2. December 8, 2011 4:28 am

    Aww, bake fails! 🙂 Can we share them on craftfail? I actually like the mashed/marbly cookies!

    Also, the holidays definitely get slightly better once you have kids, although, you are so tired that it is hard to enjoy yourself!

    • December 8, 2011 9:14 am

      you absolutely can share it on craft fail! 🙂

      Good point about kids tiring you out, thats why I’ll have non of my own, and return the borrowed ones to my siblings when I get tired! ha!

  3. December 8, 2011 11:53 am

    Aw those swirl cookies looked great! But it is true that practice helps! I love your blog name btw! The first time I made the colorful swirl cookies, I had to experiment with the temperature of the dough for it to roll well. But some time in the fridge and it got there! Happy Christmas baking!

    • December 8, 2011 1:09 pm

      It’s summer here, and was a super hot day, I think you are on to somethign with the duogh temp. I am defiantely ging to try these again… practice, practice, practice! Your ones look DEVINE!

  4. December 9, 2011 4:32 pm

    Umm people if “failed” baking still tastes good – it is should not be classed as failed, just a ‘design hiccup’ :)…. sometime pretty food can taste average…..

  5. December 13, 2011 6:20 pm

    I love those contrasting photos! I’m always trying to make fancy-adorable things that just turn out all smeary and terrible. Occasionally they turn out okay though, and it’s such a rush of achievement. I do think your swirly cookies look pretty though!

    Christmas is definitely fun with kids around, apart from when you want to relax into a long post-lunch nap and they want you to read them a story or play with their new toys with them…

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

