Skip to content

in the news

November 14, 2011

Here is an article that can go straight onto my Grandmas fridge!

http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/capital-life/in-the-kitchen/5954402/Bake-club-winner-impresses

The lovely Ruth Pretty dedicated her column to my second place cupcakes!

I’m off to scrapbook it!

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 11:25 am

    Yay you! These look truly delicious. This is the next step towards your role as a full-time baking extravagana:) x

  2. November 14, 2011 2:19 pm

    One cupcake at a time, we will take over πŸ™‚

  3. November 24, 2011 5:11 pm

    I made your raspberry icing from the paper ……. only half the batch made it to the cakes …. yummmmmmmmmmmmmm πŸ™‚

    • November 24, 2011 5:43 pm

      Hahahahaha, perhaps there should be a warning! Those dried fruit powders make icing that is to DIE FOR! πŸ™‚

      Hope your cupcakes turned out!

      • November 30, 2011 4:28 pm

        Yep cupcakes good also – will be adding icing to “my fav stash of goodness list” …. Delumpsious ( a combination of Scrumptious and Delicious .. would be my cafe name if I ever opened one.
        The passionfruit powder is also rather good

  4. November 30, 2011 5:01 pm

    New to ur site – been looking at old bits – great . Thanks for sharing.. I am now gonna try your YO YO – with ur raspberry cream cheese icing .. might even make some passionfruit. Stephen at Ontrays said to try ur site.. it is my fav food shop – nearly every Saturday πŸ™‚

    • November 30, 2011 5:59 pm

      Thanks! Hahaha good ole Stephen, tell him I due a visit before Christmas πŸ™‚ Let me know how the Yo Yo’s go!

  5. Margot permalink
    December 31, 2011 10:54 am

    Hi Demelza (great name, btw!!)

    I tasted your red beret cup cakes at a Xmas bbq recently and got excited about food for the first time in many years.
    Anyway, got the recipe and made them at home yesterday, all went well (I am NOT accomplished in the kitchen) and they tasted great. Thank you!!!

    My question is, why the 650 g of icing sugar for the frosting? I used a third of that and it was quite sweet enough for my sweet tooth. Has anybody found it a bit sweet?
    That raspberry powder is to die for, will be using it more often from now on, methinks

    • December 31, 2011 11:02 am

      Hi Margot!

      Its so exciting to hear that people are baking my recipes! (Or the ones I credit to other lovely bloggers!) Happy for you that it went well!

      In the original recipe I sent to the charming Ruth Pretty I had said you could use both the raspberry powder and the icing sugar to taste…that didn’t make it to the article though πŸ™‚

      When I make these, I use almost double the amount of raspberry powder as I love the intense flavour and I wanted a very deep colour for the icing @ the competition. And to be honest, I’ve probably never measured since the first time, just how much icing sugar I add.

      Icing is one of those things you can definitely make to taste!

      The fruit powders are amazing products, I am just playing around with adding them to shortbread!

      Thanks for commenting and the question πŸ™‚

      Demelza

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

