Skip to content

wonderful walnuts

February 20, 2011

To celebrate the return of New Zealand’s Hottest Home Baker, I made Frangipani and Walnut Tarts.

Nom. Nom. Nom.

The recipe is care of Dean Brettschneider’s book ‘TASTE – Baking with Flavour’ – but you need to go buy your own copy to source the recipe. Best I not piss of bakers from my own little island eh?

I must admit (as we all know PRACTICE bakes perfect) that I didn’t manage to get the caramel right on my own. After three attempts and three ruined pots… I called in Mr Limerance.  Boy is it handy living with a chef who currently moonlights as an artisan baker.

According to the expert,  my interpretation of  ‘Amber’ is way off. I was taking the sugar off the heat waaaaaay to early. Kind of pale yellow early. Oops!

Happy Noms!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 1:27 am

    Ah, frangipani! I was taught how to make that in week 2 of my chef training. Caramel can be pernickety, too, but if you make it often enough (we used it in a winter dessert last year at work so I develped an eye for it), you start to pick up on things, such as colour. This looks mean!

  2. February 21, 2011 9:49 am

    Pernickety? What a great word 🙂 Will have a stab at thses gain over the weekend and hope to make my own caramel sans assitance!

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

