Skip to content

buckeyed beauties

December 1, 2010

“Jingle Bells… Jingle Bells… Jingle alllll the WAY”

I’m singing carols. It can only mean good things in the kitchen.

Good friends of mine hail from Ohio and while I know very little about Ohio, I know about Buckeyes.

Basically peanut butter dipped in chocolate, Buckeyes are named after the nut of a tree in Ohio. Or something.

Who needs an excuse like that to dip peanut butter in chocolate? NOT ME!

So, in honour of my Ohio lovelies…

Here is a christmas twist!

Take some peanut butter, butter and icing sugar.

Combine.

It will be dry and crumbly.

Roll into balls.

Freeze.

Crush candy canes.

Melt chocolate.

Dip frozen balls (heeheheh balls) in melted chocolate and then in crushed candy canes.


I could only eat three before worrying about diabetes BUT my house mates were fans.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

 

(Disclaimer: I am no longer blonde, but I am just as happy)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ads permalink
    December 3, 2010 11:19 am

    Eeeek, I wants

  2. December 8, 2010 3:02 pm

    #1 I can’t believe I only just discovered your blog! Another Wellington baker-blogger!

    #2 I actually made buckeyes a couple of months ago (soooo yummy!). The nuts which are called buckeyes in the US are from horse chestnut trees – we called them conkers when I was a kid. These things look quite like them (not on sticks with candy, but hey, love the innovation).

    #3 I checked back through your posts and you started your blog the day before I started mine – must have been a vibe floating in Wellington that week!

    #4 Hi! Nice to ‘meet’ you!

    (I discovered you via Kiwicakes – I love the ninjas too)

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

