Skip to content

sweet success

June 28, 2010

Last week I left my job in the pursuit of happiness? money? better looking workmates? a challenge!

And started my new job on Monday… which meant that I had to take something pretty delicious in for my first day…

And so blog readers, I give to you:

THE EASIEST CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE!

Seriously, just THREE steps:

Step One:

Chuck the following into a blender/food processor

1 2/3 cups of plain flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 cups sugar

2/3 cup of dutch cocoa

pinch of salt

1 1/2 cups of milk

100 grams melted butter

2 large FREE RANGE eggs

1 tsp vanilla essence ( I used a little less Vanilla Paste )

Step Two:

Blitz for oh about… a minute? Maybe less, until it’s just mixed.

(yes, I know, I know… I’m sorry my camera is still in a box in storage… crappy phone pics until August!)

Step Three:

Bake at 175 degrees for 55 minutes

BOOM, you have a GREAT cake….

So, did you get that? Measure, Blitz and Bake. Thats it. Even your awkward cousin from Gore could get this one right.

But….

If you want you could go a little crazy and add steps 4, 5, 6 & 7…

Step Four:

Once cool, slice in half.

But be careful if your awesome mate Jono has really fancy &  uber sharp knives and you are baking at his place 😦

Step Five:

Drain some frozen raspberries and mix with mascarpone and fill between the layers…

Step Six:

Cover with ganache! & decorate with some left over raspberries!

(I’m sure you’ll ice yours waaay prettier than mine, on account of you not slicing your finger and prancing around the kitchen trying to not cry…)

Step Seven:

When work mates attack…

Sweet Success!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lacey permalink
    June 28, 2010 9:18 pm

    Yeah! And who tested the cake for you? Step 5.5 need cake tester 🙂

  2. June 28, 2010 9:19 pm

    Mwahahaha and step 7.5, leave the dirty cake tin for Lacey to clean! SORRY!xxx

  3. June 29, 2010 3:21 pm

    I think it’s possibly a CLM not to leave a really large piece for the company owner.

    – Anon

  4. sarah permalink
    July 7, 2010 2:27 pm

    Whatever d we were a very good looking bunch of people. x

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

