Skip to content

brownies for boys

June 15, 2010

At the moment people are either giving me recipes or asking me for them! Loves it!

I got this brownie recipe recently and gave it a whirl the other morning…

I jazzed it up by marbling a tin of sweetened condensed caramel through the top of it…

A new acquaintance (the baker/chef kind YUSSSS) gave me some brownie tips, including this one I’ll give to you for nothing – take the brownie out just before its done. I pulled this one out about ten mins early, it kept cooking a smidge more in the tray and it was the most perfect fudgy/mushy/delishy texture.

Note that my recipe calls for DUTCH cocoa.

Now put down that cup of tea, log out of facebook, sit down and just listen for a moment.

Yes, Bakermelz knows that Dutch Cocoa is expensive, like quadruple the cost of supermarket brand cocoa.. but IT IS SO WORTH IT.

Once you go black, er I mean dutch…

Take ‘Nike’s advice if you don’t want to listen to me. JUST DO IT>

Dutch it up!

100 g  DUTCH cocoa
200 g butter, melted
2 cups caster sugar (eeek I know, I know!)
4 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla – I used an amazing pure vanilla paste – you can use essence, I won’t tell anyone!*
85 g flour
1 tsp baking powder
Four tablespoons of Sweetened condensed Tinned Caramel

200 g choc chunks – the higher the cocoa percentage the better!


Sift cocoa into a large mixing bowl.

Add melted butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla.

Mix to a smooth paste.

(I kept my chocolate super chunky…)

Sift in flour and baking powder, and then add chocolate.

Pour mixture into a 20cm x 30 cm  tin. Lined with baking paper.

Dot tablespoons of the condensed caramel mixture along one edge of the tin and swirl through…


Bake in a preheated oven at 150 degress C for 65 minutes.

Remember to pull it out as soooon as you can though!

Now,

Day One: Give one piece to your flatmate, she will then do your dishes for you.

Day Two: It tastes even better, give half the remaining mix to your work mates. Cups of tea will appear on your desk!

Day Three: It is at its peak! Time to wrap up the remainder and give it to THAT boy.

Day Four… like there is EVER any brownie left on day four!

*Wellingtonian? Get your Dutch Cocoa from the Med Food Warehouse NEWTOWN!
**Please excuse the camera phone photos… digicam lost in the moving shuffle…
One Comment leave one →
  1. EliseH permalink
    August 13, 2010 3:11 pm

    Just stalked you over from kiwicakes forum (YAY) – get your equagold cocoa by the kg bag in the bulk bit at moore wilsons for just $14 plus GST so much more economical than 300gm jars

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

