Skip to content

all rise

May 26, 2010

Earlier in the month a I had a birthday party!  The food was to be all miniature. On the list was mini hamburgers…

Cut tiny pieces of lettuce? Easy! Make mini patties? Sure! Source mini buns? Not in New Zealand! Sta-ink.

However, a very talented friend of mine ‘simply whipped up’ a batch of home-made DELISH mini burgers buns. A tiny sprinkling of sesame seeds included! They were adorable and sooo tasty.

I asked the  ‘talented friend’ how hard it was to make them, in fact how hard was bread to make at all? He said he didn’t really know how hard it was because he had been making it forever…

So inspired by his buns, I attempted my own carbo adventure. It can’t be THAT hard right? right? *gulp*

(Before I launch into the slide show I feel like I should mention that the aforementioned ‘talented friend’ is actually a ‘trained chef &  talented friend’)

Some furious internet research led me to a recipe from www.thefreshloaf.com

I have pulled a lot of recipes from this site in the past. Reason being they normally have huge numbers of commenters. People owning up to the wins and losses, adaptations and variations on the recipes  posted. Even photos of their final version. Way less scary to embark on a recipe tested by 100 others than something you don’t know has ever even been read.

Speaking of reading… a better baker should always read a recipe thoroughly through. All the way through. Otherwise you may find yourself standing in your kitchen at 9pm on Monday night wanting to bang the bread in the oven but you didn’t read the bit in the recipe where it said ‘leave in refrigerator overnight’. Panic Stations.

But I’m getting ahead of myself, before I got to panic stations I did the following:

 Sponge

1 tablespoon instant yeast

1 tablespoon sugar

1 1/2 cup warm milk

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

 Dough

2 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/3 cup sugar

2 1/2-3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 cup butter

 For the sponge: mix the sugar, yeast, and flour together in bowl. Pour in the warm milk. Beat until smooth, then cover with plastic wrap and set aside for 1/2 hour.

Add the eggs, salt, sugar, and one cup of the flour to the sponge. Beat until smooth. Then add the butter in small chunks and beat well. Add the remaining flour a handful at a time and mix in until a soft but kneadable dough is achieved and the butter thoroughly incorporated.

Knead the dough by hand or with a mixer until it is smooth and satiny, about 5 minutes.

Place the dough in a greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and let rise and room temperature until doubled in size, 1 1/2 to 2 hours.

Deflate the dough, recover the bowl, and refrigerate overnight.

There you go, the bit I didn’t read till it was too late. I didn’ have time to wait OVERNIGHT!  So you know what I did?

I IGNORED IT.

Baking gods forgive me.

I just went right on ahead.. and …

YUM YUM YUM 

Sorry if the pics are confusing you BUT I made two variations of this recipe.

One with white flour and cream cheese and blueberry filling.

And one with wheat flour and a chutney, cheese and ham filling. (remove the sugar from the dough if you are making wheat/savoury versions!)

My house smelt like baked happiness allllll evening.

Bread – not that scary!

Find the full recipe at www.thefreshloaf.com

No comments yet

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

