Skip to content

peanut butter jelly time*

May 16, 2010

(*if you don’t understand the title reference, I’m not so sure we can be friends. Just saying.)

Inspired by some sweet baking gifts I got for my birthday I embarked on two new cupcake recipes.

Firstly we are going to need lots of this:

Follow the below recipe…

Peanut Butter Cupcakes:

1) Preheat oven to 160C (320F) and line a 12 cupcake pan with cupcake liners.

2) Cream 1/3 softened butter, 1/2c caster sugar and one egg.

3) Add 1c self-raising flour (sift!), 1/3c milk and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.  Mix well.

4) Mix in Peanut butter to taste, I used just over 1/2 a cup.

5) Spoon into cases

and bake for 15 minutes. Or until cake tester pulls out clean.

Meanwhile mix cocoa, icing sugar, butter and peanut butter to make a deadly choc-nut icing. I made this icing recipe up and didn’t think about recording what I was doing…. soooooo… just stick to whats about normal for a butter icing and build from there. Go on, you can do it. It’s not that scary!

Remove your peanut butter cupcakes from the oven and ice like this:

mmmm delicious. But, not THAT cute right???

I am a firm believer of mini = cute.

Think about it! Mini Muffins, Mini Cupcakes, Mini Burgers, Waistlines, those little key chain lip gloss things and OH Puppies!

So take your tasty but ‘not so cute peanut butter cupcakes’ and BAM:

Mini cookies!

Click on this recipe to bake your own delish cookies.

Now, if your one of my smarter readers you’ll note that at the beginning of this post I said I embarked on two recipes. Well I did! The second recipe was supposed to be jam/jelly flavoured. But something hasn’t quite worked out and they are the most dense, heaviest lil mini cupcakes ever.

I still went ahead and played with using candy floss as a topping but I won’t be sharing the recipe until I get it right. In the meantime you can just check out how they looked.  And imagine they tasted just as pretty.

Good thing I named this blog “practice bakes perfect”…

No comments yet

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

