Skip to content

fail cake

April 28, 2010

About a month ago, I was inspired by too many episodes of Cake Boss and attempted my first tiered cake.

It was for my housemates birthday.  She is gluten intolerant and so I had to make sure at least one tier was gluten-free.

It all started really well…

(even if I did resort to making the gluten-free layer from a box…)

I baked three cakes and carved up the gluten-free one to make the smallest &  top layer

Let the icing begin!

I was excited to have an excuse to try out my newly acquired stenciling skills. Everything was going so well!

So well that I moved onto the bottom layer, without taking a photo of the finished top two.

I placed the top two layers on a cake board and propped it up on the window sill.

The next photo will explain why this was a very, very, very bad idea…

Elbow meet cake.

Cake meet floor.

Cue tears.

Cue foot stomping.

Cue teary phone call to the birthday girl.

Less than an hour before I was due at the restaurant I had to salvage and re-ice the bottom layer and try to make one simple cake!

My hair dryer came to rescue and dried the stenciled icing quick smart.

The final cake was not at all what I planned…

But I still managed to pull  together a cake in the end!

And the birthday girl loved it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lacey permalink
    April 29, 2010 9:35 pm

    demelza meet blog
    blog cue awesomeness
    awesomness equals lacey being hungry.

    Love the blog!

  2. June 29, 2010 1:00 am

    Lovely cake and I LOVE the name of your blog!

    Patty
    aka Vampire Gran

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

