Skip to content

engaging eats

April 24, 2010

An (overdue) blog post later in the week, will tell the horror tale of baking a cake for my housemates birthday.

The day after, the lucky girl went and got engaged! She was not as scarred as I was with my last cake attempt and here I am making a second cake for her engagement party.

I spent a very, very, very, very long time trying to find a mud cake recipe. I compared over twenty recipes. There was a spread sheet and everything.

It seems that the common denominators were

1) coffee

2) real chocolate

3) large eggs

4)unsalted butter

5) small amounts of flour

and a fairly even split between recipes that used oil and those that didn’t.

I trialed two recipes – both were not the kind of mud cake I was after. And I even roped my big sister in testing a recipe for me on her day off. She had cake fail! (But it was apparently able to be eaten warm and with plenty of ice-cream).

Mud cake still remains a mystery to me. But, I WILL conquer it. Stay tuned to the blog in June for ‘CAKE WARS’.

With no fail-safe recipe at my fingertips and the engagement party in the morning I went with a recipe from a friend of a friend and modified it with what my investigations taught me!

Here it is:

INGREDIENTS
20cm round – Double quantity does 24cm round 2-1/2 inch deep

250g unsalted butter
400g dark chocolate ( I used Whittakers 70%)
1 tablespoon instant coffee
1-1/3 cups warm water

1/4c oil

1-1/2 cups self raising flour
1 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup cocoa (dutch, unsweetened)
4 Large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

DIRECTIONS

1. Grease and line base and sides of cake pan with one thickness of baking paper, bringing paper 5cm above side of pan.
2. Combine chopped butter, chopped chocolate, coffee, and water in a saucepan. Stir over low heat until chocolate is melted. Cool 15 minutes. Transfer mixture to bowl of mixer.
3. Add caster sugar to mixture and beat well until dissolved. Add sifted flour and cocoa, lightly beaten eggs, vanilla and oil.
4. Pour mixture into prepared pan.
5. Bake at 140′C for 1 to 1-1/2 hours. Test with skewer. Cool cake in pan.

And here it is out of the oven:

Then it was time to melt some of this…

And make a ganache …. mmmmmmm

Use the (flat edge) back of a knife to ice the top (because you are not awesome enough to own a palette knife)…

I find it easiest to raise the cake off the bench, while icing the edges (note: I am also not awesome enough to own a spinning cake stand)

And lastly, add pretty flowers!

This cake was a total hit! SO close to a perfect mudcake! The Bride and Groom to be were stoked and several chefs at the party gave it a big thumbs up.

Maybe there is a wedding cake in the future…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ads permalink
    April 25, 2010 8:49 pm

    It was nomnomnom,

    Seriously……

    Now I want cake 🙂

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

