Skip to content

easter cookies – creepy or cute?

April 4, 2010

My Easter cookies caused a great divide!

I found this cutter at the mall:

Easter Cutter

I fell in love with it and handed over a breezy $3.50.

It reminded me of this cartoon from when I was a kid.

(Do you remember it? A white egg with orange feet, running around bumping into stuff? I’ve searched the ENTIRE internet it seems and can’t prove its existence. Ten points if you can, anyway, back to the baking…)

Made from a simple sugar cookie recipe, care of Martha.

Easter Cookies

The secret to an awesome sugar cookie ( that also keeps its shape) is refrigeration. I let this dough hangout in my Kelvinator 5000 OVERNIGHT. Extreme? Maybe but in my defence I forgot LOST was on and was suitably distracted.

Then, I iced them with royal icing, also care of Martha.

Royal Icing

I didn’t have any of the ‘Meringue  Powder’ listed in Martha’s recipe, so I left it out! The icing keeps for weeks in an air tight container and a teeny bit of water will bring it back to life.

To ice, I found it easiest to stack the cookies on wire rack, that way the cookies got full coverage and the extra icing just ran off the sides and pooled on the bench below.

While still wet I used this bought icing and either drizzled it over or pulled it through with a toothpick.

Those who consumed them were divided (and, for the record quite drunk)  – What do you think? Cute or creepy?

Whether your ‘Team Creepy’ or  ‘Team Cute’, who can say no to a sugar cookie?

Happy Easter!

***UPDATE: – My dad  or ‘he who knows everything’ emailed me last night and he knew exactly who I was asking about. Apparently the ‘egg’ is a character from garfield and friends! – “Sheldon”   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U.S._Acres#Characters So, Ten points to Dad!***

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 3:15 am

    I think I would have to taste them to be able to answer that question. (-;

  2. April 21, 2010 10:47 pm

    sadly, you’ve got a long wait until next Easter! congrats on first comment EVER

  3. April 21, 2010 10:52 pm

    Sadly, I may also be in the wrong country by then.

  4. brigid permalink
    October 14, 2011 7:38 am

    Hi, someone sent me a link to you’re blog, and I was just perusing the old posts… I know what the egg is!!! He’s Sheldon, from the ‘Garfield and Friends’ cartoon. I bet that makes you feel better. Excellent blog by the way, I had fun trawling my way through it.

Comment! It makes me feel LOVED.

